Ashtanga Yoga


This class is taught by:

Marina Penkova

With dedication and love, Marina teaches Ashtanga, Power, Vinyasa Flow and Yin Yoga. Influenced by various traditions Marina's classes dynamically integrate Asana Vinyasa Flow with the application of precise alignment and breathing. She gives different modification for beginners and for advanced students so that her classes are suitable for everyone. She completed a teacher training course in Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga 500hr at Yoga Sala in Bulgaria. Marina continues to gain knowledge and experience from different teachers and seminars rediscovering the infinity of yoga. Experiencing the life changing power of yoga for herself she decided to dedicate herself to teaching and is grateful for the opportunity to share knowledge and energy with others. She has been practicing yoga for over 10 years teaching for five at different yoga studios in Bulgaria and the UK.
Ashtanga literally means eight limbs. Referring to the eight limbs outlined in the Yoga Sutras (morality, spiritual, postures, breath, transcendence, concentration, meditation and enlightenment). Ashtanga is a fixed sequence of athletic postures that are practised in a fixed order. There is a primary, secondary and advanced version and students master one series before they take part in the next. Ashtanga yoga is often preferred by Yogis who want a life transforming experience because of the 8 limb focus. Ashtanga and Vinyassa have breath centred movement. In an Ashtanga class a pose would be practiced on the right side then immediately the left side follows which gives a good feeling of balance. Ashtanga does not use music and is the most traditional style of yoga practice. Ujjayi breath is used (breathing through the nose but constricting at the throat to make a rasping noise). There is an equal focus between movement, stretching and holding postures.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed 16 Jan 10:00 am - 11:30 am with Marina Penkova
  • Wed 16 Jan 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Bhavesh Ramji
  • Wed 23 Jan 10:00 am - 11:30 am with Marina Penkova
  • Wed 23 Jan 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Bhavesh Ramji
  • Wed 30 Jan 10:00 am - 11:30 am with Marina Penkova
  • Wed 30 Jan 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Bhavesh Ramji
  • Wed 06 Feb 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 13 Feb 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 20 Feb 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 27 Feb 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 06 Mar 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 13 Mar 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 20 Mar 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 27 Mar 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 03 Apr 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 10 Apr 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 17 Apr 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 24 Apr 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 01 May 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth
  • Wed 08 May 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm with Tom Bodsworth